The Reveal

     The time has arrived.  For me to take on my newest project, that is.  What is it, you ask?  Just keep your pants on, I’m getting to it.

     Last year I tried the online dating thing since so many people around me were having success with it.  That was a bust.  Well, not a total bust.  This blog would not have come into existence without it, but I digress.

     At the beginning of this year I started brainstorming. . . and then – BAM!  Got it.  A self-help book.  Those things make millions a year, so they must be working for somebody.  Why can’t that next somebody be me, huh?  The trouble after that was narrowing it down to which one.  After a bit of research I found one that fit me.  Love in 90 Days by Dr. Diana Kirschner.  I think the fact that she uses the word “Dude” in the book sold me.

     When I started looking through it, it recommended that you read everything first before starting “the program.”  I can safely say that is complete and am going to start “the program” on Sunday.  I am a little less than thrilled that I have to go back to online dating, but she recommends different sites.  She gives me weekly journaling and homework, that I’m sure you’ll hear all about.

     I know this won’t work unless I throw myself in fully, so that’s what I’m doing and I’m already a little grumpy about it.  One of my first tasks is to make eye contact and say “hi” to three new guys each day.  I’ve already done a little sampling of that and am not pleased with the results. 

     I live in LA, so dating is a bitch.  Making eye contact on the street can be a coin toss.  One good shower at the Y and you don’t know who you’re talking to.  I’ve already been asked for money twice and the other guy didn’t want my money, just for me to buy him a coffee.  Damn recession.

11 Comments »

  1. Fishy Said:

    Looking forward to this!
    *Plentymorefishoutofwater – One Man’s Dating Diary*

  2. Man-shopper Said:

    HAHA this project sounds like a brilliant idea. I look forward to the documentation of your results!

    I feel for you about the eye contact. Eye contact in most of Paris means, “Please come over and harass me.” Eye contact with a smile means, “I want and need to have sex with you.”

    I’ve gotten very very good at staring at my shoes while walking, talking, and especially while ordering from a kebab place.

    • ziazitella Said:

      I know. It has become instinctual that as soon as a human appears my eyes divert. That is going to be quite a challenge for me.

  3. Anita Kloo Said:

    The problem is you might be an LA guy type. Maybe you should look them in the eye and tell them “F off” instead, you may be able to tell where they’re from by their response and they’ll be less likely to ask for money.

    • ziazitella Said:

      An opening line of “F*off,” now there’s a thought. However, I’m sure the only man that would find that a turn-on would be in the mafia.

  4. Erica Said:

    damn, i could never say hi to 3 new guys a day..i spend my day with kids..so the only guys i see are the dads..i dont think that counts. lol

    • ziazitella Said:

      Mmm, tricky, I know. She does say in the book, though, that each person has a whole network of friends they can introduce to you. Maybe you could work that angle. 😉

  5. hahaha
    I’m excited to follow this latest adventure of yours!!! I can only imagine how this is going to go-if it were me I’d probably end by proclaiming the author a sadist and deciding I had better-untested methods.
    Such a cool idea!

  6. Miss Alpha Said:

    I like it. I have the book on my shelf and it’s really awesome (albeit unfinished…) Good luck.

  7. […] Dating Patterns, Dr. Diana Kirschner, Love in 90 Days, Shemar Moore }      According to Dr. D, there are thirteen Deadly Dating Patterns that women could fall into.  I fell into two of […]

  8. […] I felt the flirt component was missing from my DNA make-up.  When I got to the section in Love in 90 Days that talks about flirting, I was flabbergasted to find out that I did half of the sixteen moves […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a comment