Gearing Up for the Checklist

          At the beginning of the year I wrote a post that ran down the checklist of what most single people go through on New Year’s Eve.  Since the day is quickly approaching, I just thought I’d refresh you on how last New Year’s Eve went.  

          Did you ever notice how there’s a bit of a New Year’s Eve event checklist?  There is usually the same list of things that happen every year.  However, they don’t always happen the way you plan or expect.

How my day went:

After I returned home from my last-minute errands, I stopped by to check the mail.  In the pool area, there was a 4-year-old boy in some tighty-whities soaking wet looking out at me.  When I got out of my car he was holding on to the bars of the fence, bouncing, smiling and excitedly asked, “Are ya comin’ in?  Are ya comin’ in?”

Advances made towards me: Check.

As I got ready for my night out, I heard my landlady’s young grandchildren running and playing together.  She took on babysitting duty for the evening.  When it was time for me to head out I said good-bye to all and was inadvertently felt up by a 5-year-old.

Inappropriate fondling: Check.

Waiting for my ride to arrive, there were a lot of phone calls back and forth as to how to find me.  Having trouble with road blocks and me not knowing all of the side street names, there was a lot of, “where are you now?”

Lose people: Check.

When we arrived at the party, the hostess was having a little trouble with the chocolate fondue.  The few of us who had already arrived, pitched in and did some stirring, reheating, some tasting, etc.  Still a little lumpy and not cooking properly, she mentioned having a little Kaluha left over.  “Pour it in,” I said.

Use alcohol to make things better: Check.

 As the night progressed, I found myself sitting in a room full of scientists and their spouses.  Having to carry on conversations with people who have far higher IQs than mine, I feel I held my own.  And if I wasn’t able to, I would casually shove more food in my mouth to avoid over-my-head conversation.

Blend in: Check.

Since the hostess and I were the only two single people there, she informed me how she knows a woman who knows lots of single science guys.  Single + science…shocking.  Anyway,  this woman is a scientist herself and would apparently enjoy scientifically matching me to one of the young gents, depending on how “science-y” I would go.

Semi-humiliating moment: Check.

My subtle friend that brought me along to the party loudly announced my blogging adventure to the room.  Informing everyone that Mr. Fig Newton was her favorite post.  This led to many questions, laughter, and a reading request.  I gave a reading and openly answered questions about my bizarre dating life.

Reveal personal information to total strangers: Check.

         I am expecting different results this year.  Hopefully advances and fondling from more age-appropriate suitors.   But can rely on the checklist being the same, of course.

4 Comments »

  1. Mama J. Said:

    You’ve definitely checked off those moments in your checklist, good job – minus the 5-year-old. I think you need a new challenge…such as unusual places to meet men or friend-to-friend encounters. It seems that the online dating has been a one-hit first-date wonder. I searched online for some ideas for you:
    1) Be a dog walker (job+meet men at a Bark Park=success)
    2) Dinner Club (http://www.tableforsix.com) – may cost money, but maybe worth a shot at least for one blog.
    3) Home Depot Hook-Up – start a project and meet men there.
    4) Team Sport – bowling, ball or something co-ed.
    Just some ideas, if not these, at least something to get the juices flowing 🙂

    • ziazitella Said:

      Way to take an active role Mama J! Great ideas. I especially like the Home Depot Hook-up idea. I’d like to find a man who’s good with his hands. 😉

  2. Katarina Said:

    I’m looking forward to hearing how this year goes!!! 🙂

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Zia Zitella, Zia Zitella. Zia Zitella said: Luv it when friends r pro-active in ur luv life. Mama J did research b4 commenting on 2day's post. http://wp.me/pECZ3-ho […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

