Double Booking

     On Sunday I had a first date lined up with a guy from eHarmony.  When I arrived at my date location, I was a little early so I sat in my car and fiddled on my phone for a bit.  It was about five minutes until my date when my phone rang.  I took a quick glance at the caller ID and answered.

Zia:  Hello?

Bill:  Hi Zia, it’s Bill from eHarmony.

     I wanted to say, “Where are you?”  Some forces from the great beyond kept me from opening my mouth.  Instead I went with…

Zia:  Oh, hi.

Bill:  How’s your Sunday going?

Zia:  (hesitant, drawn out)  Gooood.  And yours?

Zia’s Thoughts:  Oh man, is he chickening out or calling to cancel?  I’ve already driven thirty minutes to meet him.

Bill:  Good.  It’s nice to finally get a chance to talk.

Zia:  (another drawn out response)  Yeah…

Zia’s Thought’s:  ???  We’re supposed to have lunch, not talk.

Bill:  Figured I’d call now since I have to go into work later for some more overtime.

Zia’s Thought’s:  Overtime!?  Oh crap!

     Pulled the phone away from my ear and looked at the caller ID again.  I was talking to Bill from LA not Bill from the OC.  Orange County was lunch today and Los Angeles was phone call.  This was the precise reason why I programmed their city after their shared name – so I would know who was who.  Would help if I remembered to read that important information.  Smooth Zia, smooth.

     Once I got my head around who I was talking to, I kept checking my phone for a text from the Bill I was supposed to be meeting.  Then, as I was chatting with Bill 1, Bill 2 sent his “arrival” text.  While still chatting with Bill 1, I sent a reply text to Bill 2 telling him I’d be right in.  Told Bill 1 I was out running around (not a lie) and asked if I could call him back later.  Hung up and entered the restaurant a little flushed.  Ugh, the situations I find myself in.

     I then continued my date with Bill 2.  But more on that later…

8 Comments »

  1. Katarina Said:

    Wow, this dating stuff can get complicated! I hope you’re having fun with it – good luck keeping all the boys straight!

  2. Cousin Jo-Jo Said:

    I think the easy solution is just calling them by more of the fun nicknames you use here and then program the real name after them in the phone so you remember that for the dates. You don’t want to end up in the situation where you don’t know the guys name to his face! on the phone at least you can catch yourself 🙂 Or you could always ask them to change their names legally 🙂 makes your life easier!

    • ziazitella Said:

      Asking them to change their names’ legally – duh! Why didn’t I think of that?

  3. Michael Said:

    Just to be “firsting” ahead of Caleb…you did pull it off – you WERE smooth in remembering to check the phone just in time…like your trick of labeling each guy with a city, you’re as prepared as one can be…it’s time for a winner!

    • ziazitella Said:

      You’re telling me. I would love to find the winner.

      And BTW, nice work on “firsting” Caleb. I see a few readers wanted to strip that title away. 😉

  4. Mama J Said:

    Wow! Quite a predicament! I would be too confused and probably get in trouble with one or both. Good juggling!

    • ziazitella Said:

      I was having a moment of quick thinking after I made the mistake.

  5. […] After my little phone fiasco prior to the date, I quickly pulled out my phone once I got in my car and edited his contact […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

