Loveless Eulogy

     Throughout this self-help book, Dr. Diana forces us to do Inner Work and Outer Work.  The Outer Work comes in the form of our “homework” and is meant to be done out in the real world; i.e. saying hello and joining groups with men in them.   The Inner Work comes in the form of “exercises” and is meant to be done as you read.  And probably not meant to be shared via blog, but where’s the fun in that?

     I just finished up my second week of the program, which means I just completed the second chapter of the book.  This chapter helps us figure out our Deadly Dating Patterns (more on those later this week) and “self-sabotaging” ways.  I was flabbergasted at the fact that she uses the term “self-sabotaging” three times within two pages.  Ladies, come on, how much are you attacking yourselves? 

     Having spotted my Deadly Dating Patterns, I moved onto the exercises.  If I don’t change my ways and make room for love, this may be what the future holds for me.

Chapter 2 Exercise #3  The Loveless Eulogy

Zia took the bull by the horns in all areas of life – except love.  Love was a foreign substance to her.  She never experienced, felt, or knew what it was.  Without love in her life she found the time to knit her entire wardrobe, inherited seven cats, and with all the working out, had buns of steel into her late nineties.  Once Zia hit 100, she set a new goal of achieving supercentenarian status.  She took up croquet in her early 100s and enjoyed her time with the youngsters at the nursing home.  She passed away in her lonely bed at the age of 114 and was greeted in heaven by her many feline friends.

Mmm…sounds exciting.

6 Comments »

  1. Fishy Said:

    This is getting more mental by the post.
    *Plentymorefishoutofwater – One Man’s Dating Diary*

  2. Anita Kloo Said:

    I actually knew someone who visited the youngsters at the nursing home, she bowled instead of croquet and would do puzzles with the help of a wooden spoon. She had arthritis and couldn’t maneuver the small pieces well. I don’t know if you could actually knit your entire wardrobe with 7 cats, they would get into the yarn. If you had yarn made out of the cats’ hair then you could always have something to remind you of them since they’ll probably die before you. You could become a super successful designer of cat yarn clothes, travel the world and have a boy toy in every city.

    • ziazitella Said:

      I like your thinking. I didn’t know if “boy toy” would be appropriate for a eulogy, so I left it out.

  3. Man-shopper Said:

    I am severely allergic to cats. Both physically and emotionally. So if we’re both going to be single in our 100s together, I’d just like the record to reflect that I will only serve as your wingwoman if we both agree to limit our choice of furry companions to things like dogs. And fur coats.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

