A Little Reminder…

          I’m gearing up for my birthday next weekend.  I’m visiting my BFF this weekend, and she’s just itching to set me up.  Maybe she’s thinking it’s an early birthday gift.  But are set-ups ever really a gift?  I will go in and meet said Mystery Man with an open mind.  But today I was feeling a little nostalgic and flipped through some old posts when I stumbled upon this one.  Hope it doesn’t close my mind to meeting Mystery Man.

          These guys don’t warrant a post just for themselves as individuals; but they have made it to my Idiot Highlight Reel.

          Coming in at #5 – Clock-watcher.  This guy was fine at dinner, conversation was good on our walk, and then went to play pool.  While playing pool, all of the sudden he became distant and then kept checking his phone.  Maybe he had an epiphany that I was in no way going to sleep with him.  I’m assuming he had a sure thing on the other line.

          #4 – Mr. Lawyer.  Guy was too excited to meet me which I did not reciprocate because of his “I’m-a-lawyer-you’re-on-the-stand,” conversational skills.  Being talked down to or as if I’m an idiot isn’t going to win me over.  At the end of our date I went to the bathroom and was surprised to find that he actually was waiting for me outside the restaurant.  Then he asked if I’d like to come back here for dinner sometime.  Why are you wasting your breath?  You were bored 10 minutes in.  Don’t ask if you and I both know you’re not going to follow through.

          #3 – Mr. Teenage Boy Humor.  This guy never progressed past high school, mentally, socially, and probably emotionally too.  His bonehead move, asking to meet at a sports bar/restaurant.  The whole point of meeting in person is to talk, get to know each other, and see if there’s a connection.  He spent most of the time staring at the TV and not talking.  Why would I drive all the way out here for that?  I can watch TV at home and don’t have to listen to you chew.

          #2 – Dr. Aussie Midget.  The super short guy, who didn’t know how tall he was, sent me a text as soon as I sat on the train after the date.  He asked, “How’d it go?”  Buddy, teachers give report cards and I don’t want to take “work” home with me.

          #1 – All the dumbasses who pry to find out how many people I’ve met or am talking to.  “You probably get a lot of emails, right?”…“You’ve met a lot of people, haven’t you?”…“You probably get a lot of hits.”  And then proceed to tell me about all the people they’ve met.

          I’m on the date to meet and get to know you.  I could care less who or how many you’re talking to or how many you’ve met.  It’s not a competition.  Insecure – party of one.

9 Comments »

  1. Fishy Said:

    I remember this from first time round. Awesome post.
    *Plentymorefishoutofwater – One Man’s Dating Diary*

  2. Birthday Said:

    Happy Birthday 🙂

  3. Man-shopper Said:

    Oh my, idiot reel indeed. I had no idea that Aussies even came in midget size…

  4. Zoë Blue Said:

    Been there! 🙂 I LOVED the story of the guy who texted you the minute after the date asking how it went. Insecure indeed!

    BTW, I can ALWAYS tell a date is not going to work out when we start talking about other people we’ve dated. That’s always a sign that this will probably be a friendship, or will turn into a huge FADE OUT. 🙂

    Enjoy the blog!

    • ziazitella Said:

      I think I’ve developed a natural eye-rolling reflex as soon as a date starts talking or ask about other people we’ve dated.

  5. hahahahahahaha
    idiot highlight reel
    genius.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

