Live and in Person

          After meeting so many guys through online dating sites, meeting people for the first time in person was like kickin’ it old-school.  Shook things up and kept me on my toes.  I heard of this “connecting event,” as Social Bling called it, through them finding me on twitter.  The basic plan was to get people who have things in common in the same room and introduce them to each other.

The set-up: Bar.  Happy Hour prices for the night.  A hostess greets you, by name, and introduces you to the others there.  Was a little freaked when the hostess called me by my name but then the lightbulb went off and I remembered she asked for a picture when you registered.

The planned entrance: Flawless hair and make-up. Both essential for two reasons.  One, hide the enormous zit that has taken up residence on my chin.  Two, distract from the fact that my winter jacket in barricaded in the garage and I’m wearing an oversized gray stained hoodie.  If hair and make-up didn’t do the trick, then the hope lied in the red scarf and black heels.  Enter calmly, survey my surroundings, and then mingle.

The actual entrance: Drove around for 20 minutes trying to figure out where the bar was.  Annoyed.  Parked two blocks away and then walked in heels.  Entered with windblown hair, frustration, and a full bladder.  Fortunately make-up did its job.

          My initial reaction when I walked in was that it was a small turn out and primarily women.  Okay, New Year’s Date most likely won’t be found.

          The surveying of the room went exactly how you would picture it in the movies.  There was an older gentlemen at the end flirting (or trying to flirt) with the younger ladies, the token group of young women talking about clothes, fashion, etc., the sex kitten past her prime but unaware of it, and of course the lush who mistook wine for water.

          I stood around and chatted it up with a nice group of people, good mix.  Slim pickins’ on the men front.  The one man who could have been a potential disappeared for a while.  When he returned I over heard him saying he had a sneezing attack and might be allergic to something.  Seeing as he was standing next to me when this attack spawned I don’t think there’s a future for us.  Note to self: find men who are not allergic to you.

          Before I left I spoke with the hostess a bit more and she asked what I was looking for from Social Bling I told her my plan for the New Year, well lack of plans.  She said she’s actually working with a matchmaker now to plan more date-geared events.  Great, now I have someone working for me in the real world.  Although, this event probably won’t take place before the New Year.  So, back to the original square for now.   

          The night ended.  Said good-bye to the hostess, steered clear of sneezy pants, and as in the movies, noticed the lush hitting it off with the older man at the end of the bar.  Ah, nice to know that even though I’m dating online, in real life some things never change.

7 Comments »

  1. bruce Said:

    Quite the read… A few things stood out, but what cracked me up the most was the part about Mr. Sneezy Pants being allergic to you! Too funny! Very unlikely, but still funny.

  2. Jimmy Said:

    Really nice post. Made me laugh several times. Not sure a hoody is the way to go if you’re looking for a man who doesn’t own a skateboard though.

    • ziazitella Said:

      So what you’re saying is that a skateboard isn’t the most optimal mode of transportation?

      • Katarina Said:

        I think I have to go with Jimmy on this one. 🙂 BUT, a man who finds you attractive in a hoody will find you absolutely out of this world when you’re dressed up! 🙂

  3. Jen Said:

    Didn’t seem like a winning event to me. I would have worn a hoodie too.

  4. MisNetz Said:

    I usually don’t post in Blogs but your blog forced me to, amazing work.. Kind regards from france


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

