On to Greener Pastures?

          I have less than two months left until New Year’s to find myself a date and things aren’t looking good.  I still have no idea how this online dating works for people.  I have had plenty of first dates and very few second or third.  I’m not a quitter so, rather than give up and put this blog to rest, I decided to shake things up and try a different online dating site.  Although the tweets for “Amish online dating” were very appealing, I figured I needed to opt for a site with people who actually own a computer. 

          I was planning to keep my profile up on the old site, just in case someone worthy should magically appear and, was going to focus more on the new pool of choices.  However, the first new site I tried (singlesnet) was insane.  The second I hit the complete registration button, I had winks and interests and emails popping up out of no where.  There was no way to filter out what I look for, just basic stuff like non-smoker, likes pets.  It was more of a free-for-all, very overwhelming and useless.  It definitely felt like online shopping, women ’09 catalogue for men.

          So I deleted that profile the next day and tried yet another site (Okcupid).  This one is super complex with a bazillion questions.  You get emails, their suggestions, you can also “wink” and yada yada.  This site shows more of a personality match but it also shows an “enemy %.”  Does anyone really want to read the word “enemy” when they’re looking for a date?  They didn’t really think that one through, did they?  Also, I did notice that some of those faces looked familiar, fellow plentyoffishers.  

          Decided I’ll keep the Okcupid profile up for a bit and give it a go.  But as of now, plentyoffish seems to be the most user-friendly and best for filtering.  If anyone has any other sites or suggestions I’ll take them.  Hell, I’ll even take nominations.  

          Having my face out there on two sites isn’t exactly comforting.  I do at times feel like I’m auctioning myself off or pimping myself out.  But, what the heck.  I’ve got nothing better to occupy my time right now.

2 Comments »

  1. Jimmy Said:

    I have a post going up next week about my plentyoffish profile…
    Like this post. Good luck.

  2. Erica Said:

    I’m not really enjoying okcupid, so good luck with it, if I find any other good sites I’ll let you know


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

