Next Up

          I think either person can initiate the first date.  If you just keep emailing, you might as well list that you’re only looking for a pen-pal. 

          And those class acts who email their number in the first email – seriously!?  They’re usually the ones who have the 2 line bios and interests in MMA and UFC.  Dude really, what could we possibly have to talk about?

          If you’re emailing back and forth for a while and you enjoy reading and writing them, it’s probably a good idea to do an initial meet.  When I told my best friend I was having my first meet she quickly asked, “What are you wearing?”

          “I don’t know,” I said.  “I haven’t thought that far ahead.”

          “I know, that’s why I’m asking,” she replied.

          Not fitting the mold of most women, what to wear is not usually the first thing on my mind.  Don’t think it even makes the top 5.

          I have a whole theory on how to look for your first meet.  Many little factors come into play, but here are the basics.

          When you decide to meet there’s usually a number exchange.  So, there’s either a phone call or text(s) involved.  If you’ve talked on the phone and the voice matches the emails and you’ve already decided you kind of like the person, put a little effort into your appearance – but not a ton.  If you’ve emailed and called and/or texted and it’s going to come down to physical chemistry to make up your mind, just be your regularly dressed self.  If you’ve emailed and exchanged numbers and then there’s an abundance of texts – which has happened to me more than I’d like to admit, you begin to dread the first meet.  At this point I get the feeling that the guy likes me way more than I like him.  So, to dress for this meet, not much effort – no frills.  I’ll show up clothed and little, if any, make-up.  Here’s why:

          He already likes me too much.  I don’t want to be looking too attractive just to have him like me more when I’ve already partly decided he’s a tool.  This works well for me because I have yet to have any of those guys turn out to be keepers.

          However, some of them are still excited and want to see me and all my frumpiness again.  They’re either desperate or I have some hidden “wow” factor to which I’m completely unaware.

1 Comment »

  1. Erica Said:

    omg I love your site. It’s just whats going on inside my head. HAHA


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

